top of page

Art is in...

This is my first writing. I want to welcome you to my page. Please take some time and experience the artwork and projects I post.

I have been creating since I was born. Only recently have I begun this journey painting and sketching. As I explore and learn through this medium I hope that you can enjoy this journey with me. Several months ago I read an article that said coloring was as effective as meditating. It got me thinking about ways to relieve stress. In August I turned 30. I prepared a 30 before 30 list of things to do with people or try that I had not done before. One of those things was painting. It was something I had never done before. I bought a canvas and my dear friend Alicia who teaches art bought me some paint. a bit later we met with some friends for a "Paint and Pray. " I painted outside and so my new time began. I had no idea it would be such impact.

I have found this to be a new form of therapy, a way to express myself without limits. I live my life so often with structure, boundaries, and limits. This is all in an effort often to protect myself, rooted in fear. I have found this canvas is a place of freedom and expression. It has no bounds, no fear, no pain. Life has been trying lately with numerous challenges emotionally, professionally, and relationally. Art is a new way to experience life in a deeper more meaningful way. It is a piece of me, vulnerable and real. The authentic moment.

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.”- Jeremiah 17:7-8

Painting is a way to express this without abandon and no repercussions. The mistakes become beautiful, add depth, mystery and provide a new perspective. It is as though the paint is able to embody the feelings as it is put on the canvas. God does move in mysterious ways through us and brings healing this is just one way for me. On the mediums as in life I find that there is always 'Just Enough Canvas'.

bottom of page